Exclusive: Sociali.com Rediff’s Own Social Network? - Updated: Rediff Says Its Just A Sandbox For Developers!
Email It!
Updated: Rediff has denied that Sociali is a social network. They have said that Sociali.com is just being used as a sandbox to test the applications by developers for the Rediff API platform till they actually open up verticals like iShare, QnA and others for applications to be plugged in. On quizzing them further whether sociali.com could be anything in the future they said there are no concrete plans on that as yet.
Zaki Ansari Head of Rediff platform said “We would not be launching another brand when Rediff.com is such a strong brand in itself”
Original Story: You are reading it here first - Rediff.com which recently launched its api for developers (We had also got an exclusive interview with Zaki Ansari of Rediff Platforms then) and code named the project Sociali has now launched (by the looks of it) its own social network called Sociali.com. This seems like its just been live for a few hours now. On browsing the social network here is what I discovered..

1) One can sign in with Rediff ID.. That means all rediff users can instantaneously be part of this network.
2) One can import ones profile/friends from orkut & facebook
3) There are already applications available on the platform which can be added by users. So this is where the apps that developers create for rediff would be used.
4) One can import ones contacts from gmail, hotmail, yahoo and rediffmail.
According the site here is their own description
“What is Sociali?
SOCIALI is a network of friends and people you know.
You will love discovering them. And they will discover what makes you, you.”
Rediff has had a social network since sometime in Rediff Connexions and its puzzling as to why would they launch one more?
We have got in touch with the guys at Rediff and will get more updates on Sociali.com and its purpose as soon as we get them.

RSS
Email

(2 votes, average: 4.5 out of 5)






































I ahve no doubt it is rediff’s…
This is the whois for sociali.com
Registrant:
Rediff.com India Limited
1st Floor Mahalaxmi Engineering Estate
Mahim W
Mumbai, Maharashtra 400016
India
Domain servers in listed order:
NS.REDIFFMAILPRO.COM
NS2.REDIFFMAILPRO.COM
rajiv - why dont you put a disclosure in your posts related to Rediff that you work for them as part of watconsult? I think it is only fair for your readers.
TOS page of sociali clearly mentions:-
“Welcome to Sociali an online social networking service brought to you by Rediff.com India Limited (“Rediff”, “WE”, “US”, OR “OUR ”, “Rediff.com”) that enables you to find and connect with your friends and people around you (“Service”) subject to the terms and conditions contained herein.”
http://www.sociali.com/terms.php
Even the title of the website says “Sociali : Stay connected to your friends and family”
@rajiv_not_dhingra: Well we had worked for rediff last year in 2007 and no longer work for them anymore. Hence no disclosure. Also I have this principle When I blog for WATBlog I am a blogger and hold no affiliations to any company, profession or client. Im honest to my views on WATBlog and thats why I dont see a reason for disclosures which shouldn’t matter anyway.
and why do you think good talk about companies will not give you more business?
@rajiv_not_dhingra
I don’t think watblog would have survived this long had we been giving lopsided or partial views.. and personally, I don’t even see how this post can make us money in any way.. it is just a news report ..
we have in fact questioned the whole motive of a new social network when they already have one in connexions .. to me that doesn’t seem ‘good talk’ ..
at least read the post please before commenting,it is a short one anyway
look back at your older posts dude and you will see a trend. And what makes you think people know who all you consult?
@rajiv_not_dhingra Rediff aren’t our clients since June 07 and Based on how you are seeing it if they weren’t our clients we shouldn’t have posted any story about them post 07. But we have. Infact from Jan - June 07 when they were WATConsult’s clients we had hardly blogged about them. You can check this on the blog. Also WATConsult and WATBlog are separate entities none of them affect each other. We have a strict policy on the editorial front which isn’t compromised for anyone. The very reason why you can comment here questioning our credibility and it is published its because we know the standard we set and are proud of it. And some anonymous ‘rajiv not dhingra’ who isn’t proud enough of his own name to publish it cant challenge our credibility.
Niceeee.. Combat:P