EXCLUSIVE: Beware of Fake UTI Bank page online

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (Rate this article)
Loading ... Loading ...

DISCLAIMER: Before you read this you must understand that WATblog is not responsible for the websites and their content to whom we have links to. Please do not submit any information to such websites as any consequences of submitting information to websites that are not a part of WATblog will be solely your responsibility.

Sorry for the disclaimer above but this article has links which point to fraudulent websites but these links are given to make sure that you are aware of such illegal activity and can take precautions against them. 

Well im sure most of you have heard of phishing. According to wikipedia phishing is a criminal activity using social engineering techniques. Phishers attempt to fraudulently acquire sensitive information, such as passwords and credit card details, by masquerading as a trustworthy person or business in an electronic communication. Basically phishers cheat you by posing as someone trustworthy and acquire your sensitive financial information.

Why am i writing about this you might think? Well coz i just got an email from UTI Bank in the morning saying I should update my account! Err.. I DONT have a UTI account! Then how and from where did the email come by? One look at the email and i knew something was fishy but that might be because I am aware of phishing and its techniques. Here is the fake email i recieved given below

 

 

      

   rajiv dingra


Re:confirm Your Account Details For Security Notice

 

   Uti Bank  

   Wed, Nov 8, 2006 at 6:33 AM  

   

To: rajiv.dingra@gmail.com

 

      

     

    UTI BANK  

   

i-Connect i-Connect  

   
Dear Valued UTIBank Customer,

UTI’s Internet Banking, is hereby announcing the New Security Upgrade.
We’ve upgraded our new SSL servers to serve our customers for
a better and secure banking service,against any fraudulent activities. Due to
this recent upgrade, you are requested to provide your account information.
For secure transaction also include your Transaction Id & password
by following the reference below.

Reference*

http://www.UTIbank.co.in/account.update.asp?ID=signonasp35bh53967hut763d

Regards UTI Customers Service  UTI Bank LTD.  
 

If you click on the link above in the email you are taken to a geocities page where there is a replica of the UTI login page created. Kindly note this page is a fraud page and is no way associated with UTI bank. Though the link name is UTIbank.co.in it isnt directed to UTIbank.co.in instead it takes you to the geocities page – The fraud link is this http://in.geocities.com/utibank_update_account/signon.html. Geocities if you didn’t know is a free web page creator from yahoo just like there is googlepages.

Now compare the above website on geocities with the original UTI Bank page here is the link https://www.utibank.co.in/

Can you spot the difference? There is abosolutely no difference according to me..Infact the fraudulent website even has the disclaimer "In case you have received any e-mail from an address appearing to be sent by UTIBANK, advising you of any changes made in your personal information,account details or information on your user id and password of your netbanking facility, PLEASE DO NOT RESPOND. It is UTIBANK’s policy not to seek/send such information through email. If you have already disclosed your password please change it immediately. " taken from the original website.
Let me know if you can spot a difference!

I sent a fake username and password in the geocities fake uti website and it used a mail form to send my password to someone! In short they basically wanted to steal my password. I am not sure UTI Bank knows about the about racket! If anyone is a customer please inform them. I am trying to get in touch with them myself.

My point is any person who is well read as well can get duped by this phishing method because the website are identical! People like me know what geocities is and I most of the time read the url in the address bar so i might be smart enough to avoid such mails.. But how many people do that?

I will be coming up with another part soon about fraudulent activities on the internet. Finally please be careful when submitting your sensitive financial details online.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to our RSS Feed OR Email Alerts!


Related Posts

About the Author

Rajiv Dingra

Rajiv is a prolific blogger who has over 1000 blog posts to his credit at WATBlog. The Founder & CEO of WATMedia our parent company and the Chief Blogger at WATBlog, he has been the driving force of the WAT Evolution. Rajiv does some excellent analysis of the digital media industry in India and often brings out deep insights with his inimitable style of interviewing. Just mail rajiv|at|watblog|dot|com and it will reach him..

One Response to “ EXCLUSIVE: Beware of Fake UTI Bank page online ”

  1. Hi Rajiv, Yeah I am the victim of this fraud. 40,000/- has been transfered from my account. I really dont know, what should I do now. respond me please on goesanjeev@gmail.com :-@

Leave a Comment and Follow the replies through Post Comment Feed

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <strong>